The Conference was official opened by Ho. Amb Ukur Yattani Cabinet Secretary Ministry of Labour and Social Protection. In attendance was Bro. Wellington Chibebe, ILO Regional Director Dar-er-salaam Tanzania, Bro. Arezki Mezhoud Secretary General of the Organization of African Trade Union Unity, (OATUU) Bro.  Akouete Yaovi Beleki Deputy Secretary General International Trade Union Confederation- Africa (ITUC – AFRICA), the COTU (K) Executive Board and delegates from fourteen Eastern African Countries. #Strengthening the Eastern African Labour Movement and African Continent as a whole #solidarityforever.